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Stay current with the North Carolina  
Wildlife Resources Commission  
on the web:

www.ncwildlife.org

This Vessel Operator’s Guide is produced by the North 
Carolina  Wildlife Resources Commission as a conven­
ient reference to the requirements of North Carolina 
boating laws and regulations. This edition brings the 
Guide up to date through February 1, 2022. It cannot, 
of course, answer every conceivable question that 
may arise, but it provides answers to some of the 
more frequent inquiries.

The North Carolina Boating law applies to all public 
waters within the territorial limits of the State, to the 
marginal sea adjacent to the State and to the high seas 
when navigated as a part of a journey or ride to or from 
the shore of this State. This includes all streams, rivers, 
lakes and sounds within or bordering the State, but it 
does not include private ponds as defined in G.S. 113­
129. Private ponds are generally small impoundments 
that lie wholly on the land of one owner and into which 
and from which fish cannot enter or escape.

Vessels operating on waters subject to the jurisdiction 
of the United States are subject to Federal Boating laws 
as well as State laws.

For information regarding Federal boating requirements, 
such as visual distress signals and marine sanitation 
devices contact:

 Fifth Coast Guard District
 Federal Building     
 431 Crawford Street
 Portsmouth, Virginia 23705
 (757) 398­6390  
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DISPLAY OF NUMBER AND DECAL

Affixing Registration Numbers:
If a N.C. registration number already exists, you will only be 
replacing the decals. U.S. Coast Guard Documented Vessels 
may NOT display the N.C. registration number. 

Registration numbers must be legible by complying with  
the below instructions:

• Must be painted or permanently affixed on the forward 
half of both sides and no other number may be displayed 
on either side of the bow. 

• Must be at least three inch block lettering and may be of 
any solid color so as to contrast with the bow of the vessel.

• The number must read from left to right as it appears on 
the registration card and the letters must be separated 
from the numerals by hyphens or by equivalent spaces,  
as shown in the diagram below.

Affixing Vessel Decals:
Decals must be displayed on the starboard and port side bow 
within 6 inches of your registration number as shown in the 
diagram above. U.S. Coast Guard Documented Vessels must 
display the decals on the forward half of the starboard and  
port side bow.

Remove old validation decals. Apply decals at temperature 
above 40 degrees Fahrenheit to vessel surface that is clean, 
dry, and free of dust, grease, wax or other foreign matter.

Remove decals from lining paper by lifting at the corner and 
pulling up. Place in position and press firmly to surface.

Reciprocity

A vessel legally numbered in North Carolina is consid ered to 
be in compliance with the numbering require ments of any 
state in which it is temporarily used. When a vessel, legally 
numbered in this state, is moved to a new state of principal 
use, its number will be valid for a period of at least 60 days.
A vessel which is lawfully numbered in another state and which 
is brought into and kept in North Carolina may be used on the 
waters of this state during the 90 day period immediately 
ensuing its introduction without any addi tional registration 
provided the certificate of number remains current during 
such period. Continued use of the vessel after this period is 
unlawful unless and until the vessel has been registered with 
the Wildlife Resources Commission.

Registration Number

NC  0000  AB

Registration Number

NC  0000  AB

Vessel Decal Vessel Decal

Starboard Side
(right side of vessel)

Port Side
(left side of vessel)



Class A----Less Than 16 feet

Class 1----16 Feet to less than 26 feet

Class 2----26 feet to less than 40 feet

Class 3----40 feet and over
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BOATING SAFETY EDUCATION
REQUIREMENT

Vessel operators born on or after January 1, 1988 must have 
successfully completed a Boating Safety Education course  
to operate a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater 
on public waters in North Carolina. Boating Safety Education 
courses are offered at no charge by the N.C. Wildlife Resources 
Commission. Go to www.ncwildlife.org or call (919) 707­0030 
for more information. The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, the U.S. 
Power Squadron and Internet providers also offer approved 
courses that can include a fee. It is important to note the 
course must be approved by the National Association of 
State Boating Law Administrators  (NASBLA) to be accepted. 

In lieu of a NASBLA approved boating safety certificate, a 
vessel operator shall be considered in compliance with the 
requirements of boating safety education if they have one of 
the following items:

•  A state­approved nonrenewable temporary operator’s 
certificate to operate a vessel for 90 days that was issued 
with the certificate of number for the vessel, if the boat 
was new or was sold with a transfer of ownership.

•  A rental or lease agreement from a vessel rental or 
leasing business that lists the person as the authorized 
operator of the vessel.

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT

For the purpose of equipment requirements, vessels are 
divided into four classes, according to length. The length  
of a vessel is the distance from stem to stern measured  
over the deck, excluding sheer.

Classes of Vessels
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Personal Flotation Devices (PFD)

Personal Flotation Devices must be Coast Guard approved 
and used for activities in accordance with the requirements 
on the approval label.  The number required on a vessel 
depends on the length of the vessel and whether the vessel 
is used for recreational or commercial purposes.

RECREATIONAL VESSELS
1. All recreational vessels must have one Coast Guard 

approved wearable PFD of a suitable size for each person 
aboard and each skier being towed.

• Sailboards, racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes  
and racing kayaks are exempted from the requirements 
for carriage of any PFD.

2. All recreational vessels sixteen (16) feet in length and  
over must have one Coast Guard approved wearable  
PFD of suitable size for each person aboard and each skier 
being towed, and in addition, one Coast Guard approved  
throwable PFD.

• Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length and over are 
exempted from the requirements for carriage of the 
additional Coast Guard approved  throwable PFD.

3.  No person may operate a recreational vessel unless each 
child under 13 years old on board is wearing a Coast Guard 
approved wearable PFD unless:

• Each child not wearing such a PFD is below decks or in  
an enclosed cabin.

• The vessel is not underway. (Vessels that are anchored  
or tied to shore are not underway.) This law does not 
apply to commercial vessels.

COMMERCIAL VESSELS
1. Each commercial vessel not carrying passengers for  

hire less than forty (40) feet in length must have at  
least one Coast Guard approved wearable PFD of a 
suitable size for each person on board.

2. Each commercial vessel forty (40) feet in length or longer 
not carrying passengers for hire must have at least one 
Coast Guard approved off­shore PFD of a suitable size for 
each person on board.

3. Each commercial vessel twenty­six (26) feet in length 
or longer must have at least one Coast Guard approved  
throwable PFD on board.
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TYPES OF PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES

Off-shore
An off­shore  PFD is an approved device  
designed to turn an unconscious person in  
the water from a face downward position to  
a vertical or slightly backward position, and  
to have more than 20 pounds of buoyancy.

Near-shore
A near­shore PFD is an approved device 
designed to turn an unconscious person in 
the water from a face down ward position to a 
vertical or slightly backward position, and to 
have more than 15.5 pounds of buoyancy.

Flotation Aids
Flotation aids are an approved device designed 
to have more than 15.5 pounds of buoyancy. 
While this PFD has the same buoyancy as the 
near­shore PFD, it has less turning ability. It 
does, however, allow greater wearing comfort 
and is particularly useful when water skiing, sail­
ing, hunting, or engaged in other water sports.

Throwable
A throwable PFD is an approved device 
designed to be thrown to a person in the 
water. It is not designed to be worn. It is 
designed to have at least 16.5 pounds 
of buoyancy. The most com mon throw­ 
able PFD is a buoyant cushion. A ring 
buoy is also a throwable PFD.

All PFDs must be U.S. Coast Guard 
approved, used in accordance with 
requirements on label, in good and 
serviceable condition, readily access­ 
ible, and of appropriate size for the 
wearer. Throwable PFDs must be  
U.S. Coast Guard approved, in  
good and serviceable condition,  
and immediately available.

Special use 
A Special use PFD must be Coast Guard  
approved. It is a restricted device that is accept­ 
able only when the wearer is engaged in the  
activity for which the device is intended. Some  
restricted PFDs must be worn to be acceptable.  
Always check the label of a restricted PFD; the  
label will show the activity for which the PFD is  
approved and will list all other restrictions.



Fire Extinguishers

All Marine Type USCG fire extinguishers must be readily 
accessible and in good and serviceable condition.
Good and serviceable working condition means:

(i) If the extinguisher has a pressure gauge reading or  
 indicator it must be in the operable range or position;
(ii) The lock pin is firmly in place;
(iii) The discharge nozzle is clean and free of obstruction; and
(iv) The extinguisher does not show visible signs of 
 significant corrosion or damage.

Disposable fire extinguisher shall not be more than 12 years 
old from date stamp on bottle. Must be removed from service 
on 31 December of the 12th year (effective 4/1/22).

A vessel of Classes A and 1 (less than 26 feet) must carry at 
least one Coast Guard approved “B­1“ type fire extinguisher 
unless (a) it has an approved built­in fire extinguishing system 
in the engine compartment, or (b) it is an outboard vessel of 
open construction and does not carry paying passengers. 

For the purpose of determining if an outboard vessel is of 
closed construction, it is considered to be of closed con ­ 
struction if it has one or more of the following features:

1.  Closed compartment under seats or elsewhere wherein 
portable fuel tanks may be stored.

2.  Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or which are not 
completely filled with flotation material.

3. Closed living spaces.
4.  Closed stowage compartments in which combustible  

or flammable materials are stored.
5. Permanently mounted fuel tank.

The following construction features do not of them selves 
require that a fire extinguisher be carried:

1. Bait wells. 4. Open slatted flooring.
2. Glove or map compartments. 5. Ice chests. 
3. Buoyant flotation materials.

Class 2 vessels must carry one type “B­II“ or two type “B­1“ 
extinguishers, unless equipped with an approved built­in 
extinguishing system, in which case one type “B­1“ 
extinguisher will suffice.

Class 3 vessels must carry at least three “B­1“ extin guishers
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FIRE EXTINGUISHER REQUIREMENTS
 Length Class Without Fixed System  With Fixed System*

 Less than 16 ft. (Class A) 1 B­I None

 16 ft. to less than 26 ft. (Class 1)  1 B­I None

 26 ft. to less than 40 ft. (Class 2)  2 B­I or 1 B­II 1 B­I

 40 ft. to less than 65 ft. (Class 3)  3 B­I or 1 B­II  2 B­I or 1 B­II
  and 1 B­I

*refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system
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Sound-producing Devices

Sound­producing devices include horns or whistles and bells. 
Vessels less than 12 meters (39.4 feet) in length, while not 
required to have a horn or whistles and bells, shall be provided 
with some means of making an efficient sound signal.

A vessel that is 12 meters, but less than 20 meters (65.6 feet) 
must carry a horn or whistle that can be heard for one­half mile. 
Vessel operators may substitute mechanical or electronic 
sound signal appliance for required sound producing devices 
if such appliances have similar sound characteristics, provided 
that manual sounding of the required signals must be possible.

Flame Arrestors

The carburetors on inboard gasoline engines must be 
equipped with Coast Guard approved backfire flame arrestors 
or an arrangement of the carburetor or engine air induction 
system that will disperse any flames caused by engine back­
fire. The flames must be dispersed to the atmosphere outside 
the vessel in such a manner that the flames will not endanger 
the vessel, persons on board, or nearby vessels and structures. 
All attachments shall be of metallic construction with flame 
tight connec tions and firmly secured to withstand vibration, 
shock, and engine backfire.

Ventilation

Inboard vessels using gasoline or fuel with a flash point of 
less than 110 degrees Fahrenheit and outboard vessels which 
have enclosed bilges or fuel tank compartments or other 
compartments into which explosive or flam mable gases may 
flow and be trapped must have each engine and fuel tank 
compartment equipped with two or more cowled ventilators 
arranged and ducted for efficiently evacuating such vapors. 
The ventilation requirement is in addition to, and not in lieu  
of, the fire extinguisher requirements.

Exhaust Mufflers

Vessel engines with open­air exhausts and the capacity  
to operate at more than 4000 RPM must have effective 
muffling equipment installed on each exhaust manifold  
stack. Licensed commercial fishing vessels are exempt.

or one type “B­1“ and one type “B­II“ extin guishers. If 
equipped with an approved built­in extinguishing system,  
two type “B­1“ or one type “B­II“ extinguishers will suffice.
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INLAND LIGHTING RULES

NAVIGATION LIGHTS
Vessels operating at night are required to display navigation 
lights between sunset and sunrise.
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Vessels Less Than 12 Meters (39.4 ft.) In Length
Vessels or sailboats using power: the lighting arrange ment in 
figure 1, 2 or 3 may be used.

Sailboats using sail alone: the lighting arrangements in figure 
4, 5 or 6 may be used.

The white masthead light must be at least 1 meter (3.3 ft.) 
higher than the colored sidelights.

 Vessels 12 Meters but Less than 20 Meters (65.6 ft.) in Length
Vessels or sailboats using power: the lighting arrange ment in 
figure 1 or 2 may be used. The lighting arrange ment in figure 
3 may be used if the vessel was con structed before December 
24, 1980.

Sailboats using sail alone: the lighting arrangements in figure 
4, 5 or 6 may be used.

The white masthead light must be at least 2.5 meters (8.2 ft.) 
higher than the colored sidelights.

Vessel at Anchor
A vessel less than 50 meters (165 ft.) in length should display 
an all­round white light visible for two miles exhibited where 
it can best be seen. However, vessels less than 7 meters (23 ft.) 
in length are not required to display anchor lights unless 
anchored in or near a narrow channel, fairway or anchorage 
or where other vessels normally navigate.

EXCEPTIONS:
1. Row or Paddle Boat and Small Sailboats:
A vessel under oars, and sailboats less than 7 meters (23 feet) 
in length may display those lights prescribed for a sailing 
vessel, but if they do not, they shall have ready at hand an 
electric torch or lighted lantern shining a white light which 
shall be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent collision.

2. Vessels of 10 Horsepower or Less:
On waters of the State not subject to the jurisdiction of the 
United States, vessels propelled by machinery of 10 horse­
power or less, in lieu of the foregoing require ments, may 
carry from one­half hour after sunset to one­half before 
sunrise a white light in the stern or have on board a hand 
flashlight in good working con dition which shall be ready  
at hand and shall be tem porarily displayed in sufficient time  
to prevent collision. On waters of the State that are subject  
to the jurisdic tion of the United States, this exception, though 
permissible under State law, is not sanctioned by any Federal 
law or regulation.
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OPERATION OF VESSELS

Definition of Underway

“Underway” means a vessel that is not at anchor, or made 
fast to the shore, or aground. 

Speed Limits

Although local conditions may warrant the imposition of 
definite limitations on the speed of vessels, the only general 
speed limitation is that which is implied in safe vessel opera­ 
 tion under the existing circumstances. Speed which is exces­ 
 sive under the circumstances, and which endangers persons 
or property, is one form of reckless operation, which is pro­ 
 hibited by the State boating law.

Boating and Fishing Access Areas

Vessels entering, leaving or passing within 50 yards of a 
state­owned or controlled boating and fishing access area 
must do so at “no­wake“ speed.

Reckless Operation

No person shall operate any motorboat or vessel, or manip­
ulate any water skis, surfboard, or similar device in a reckless 
or negligent manner so as to endanger the life, limb or 
property of any person.

Alcohol and Drugs

No person shall operate any motorboat or vessel, or manip­
ulate any water skis, surfboard, or similar device while under 
the influence of an impairing substance, nor operate any 
motor vessel after consuming alcohol sufficient to cause a 
blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or greater.

Law Enforcement Vessels

Vessels operated on the waters of this State shall slow to a  
no­wake speed when passing within 100 feet of a law enforce­
ment vessel that is displaying a flashing blue light unless the 
vessel is in a narrow channel. Vessels operated on the waters 
of this State in a narrow channel shall slow to a no­wake 
speed when passing within 50 feet of a law enforce ment 
vessel that is displaying a flashing blue light.

Boat Races and Regattas

Regattas, tournaments and other marine exhibitions may  
be held on navigable waters of the State when approved in 
advance by the United States Coast Guard. Application must 
be made to the Coast Guard District Commander at least 30 
days prior to the proposed event.



PERSONAL WATERCRAFT

Personal Watercraft (PWC) are defined by law as “A small 
vessel which uses an outboard motor or propeller­ driven 
motor, or an inboard motor powering a water jet pump, as  
its primary source of motive power and which is designed 
to be operated by a person sitting, standing, or kneeling on, 
or being towed behind the vessel, rather than in the conven­
tional manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel.“ PWCs 
are commonly known by their manufacturer names such as 
“Jet Skis” and “Wave Runners.“

 It is unlawful to operate a personal watercraft (PWC) on the 
waters of this State between sunset and sunrise.

Minimum Age To Operate

No person under 14 years of age may operate a personal 
watercraft (PWC). A person at least 14 years of age but less 
than 16 years of age may operate a PWC if:

1.  The person is accompanied by a person at least 18 years of 
age who occupies the PWC; or

2.  The person possesses ID proof of age and a boating safety 
certification or card indicating satisfactory com pletion of a 
National Association of State Boat ing Law Administrators 
(NASBLA) approved boating safety education course.

ID and boating safety certification must be produced upon 
request of an officer. It is unlawful for the owner of a PWC or 
for a person who has temporary or perma nent res pon sibility 
for a person under 16 to allow that person to operate a PWC 
except as provided in 1 and 2 above.

Personal Flotation Devices and Safety Equipment

PWCs are subject to the same safety equipment require ments 
as other vessels. In addition to those requirements:

1.  No person shall operate or allow operation of a PWC unless 
each person riding or being towed is wearing a Coast Guard 
approved personal flotation device. (Inflatable PFDs do not 
satisfy this requirement).

2.  If the PWC is equipped by the manufacturer with a lanyard­
type cut­off switch, it must be attached to the person 
operating.
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Towing Skiers

No person shall operate a PWC towing another person on 
water skis or other devices unless the PWC has on board, in 
addition to the operator, an observer who shall monitor the 
person(s) being towed, or the PWC is equipped with a rear­
view mirror; and the total number of persons operating, 
observing, and being towed does not exceed the number of 
passengers identified by the manufacturer as the maximum 
safe load for the vessel.
 

Reckless Operation
 
Personal Watercraft must be operated in a reasonable and 
prudent manner. Maneuvers that endanger life, limb, or 
property shall constitute reckless operation of a vessel  
and include:

1.  Unreasonably or unnecessarily weaving through con­
gested vessel traffic.

2.  Jumping the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of  
such other vessel or when visibility around such other 
vessel is obstructed.

3.  Intentionally approaching another vessel in order to swerve 
at the last possible moment to avoid collision.

4.  Operating contrary to the “rules of the road“ or follow  ing 
too closely to another vessel, including a PWC. “Following 
too closely,“ is defined by law as pro ceeding in the same 
direction of another vessel and operating at a speed in 
excess of 10mph when approach ing within 100 feet to the 
rear or 50 feet to the side of another vessel that is underway 
unless that vessel is operating in a narrow channel, in which 
case a PWC may operate at the speed and flow of other 
vessel traffic. A narrow channel is defined as a seg ment  
of the waters of the State that is 300 feet or less in width.

Other Operating Restrictions

No person shall operate a personal watercraft on the waters 
of this State at greater than no­wake speed within 100 feet  
of an anchored or moored vessel, a dock, pier, swim float, 
marked swimming area, swimmers, surfers, persons engaged 
in angling, or any manually operated pro pelled vessel (except 
within 50 feet in a narrow channel).

Renting Personal Watercraft

Each PWC that is rented to the public is required to have 
liability insurance in the amount of $300,000.
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WATER SKIING

The boating law contains several provisions relating to the 
towing of persons on water skis, surfboards and other similar 
devices, and the manipulation of such devices by the persons 
being towed. It prohibits the operation or manipulation of 
such devices:

1. In a reckless or dangerous manner;
2. While under the influence of an impairing substance;
3.  Where the direction or location of the device may be 

manipulated or controlled from the vessel so as to  
cause the person being towed to collide with any  
object or person;

4.  Between one hour after sunset and one hour before 
sunrise;

5.  At any other time, unless: 
(a) the vessel is equipped with a rear vision mirror, or  
(b) there is an observer in the vessel in addition to the 
operator, or 
(c) the person being towed wears a life preserver.

Prohibitions 4 and 5 do not apply to professional skiing 
exhibitions or authorized regattas.

Water Skiing Signals

SLOWERFASTER SPEED O.K.

RIGHT TURN

PICK ME UP or
FALLEN SKIER—WATCH OUT

LEFT TURN BACK TO  
DROP-OFF AREA

CUT MOTOR STOP

SKIER O.K. AFTER FALL
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Skin and Scuba Divers

Persons engaged in, or assisting, skin or scuba diving in 
waters open to boating must display the diver’s flag at the 
place of diving. They may not display the flag when not 
engaged in diving or at any loca tion where it will unreason­
ably obstruct navigation. Vessels may not approach closer 
than 50 feet to any structure which a diver’s flag is displayed, 
except when it is located so as to constitute an unreasonable 
obstruc tion to navigation.

BOATING ACCIDENTS

The law imposes certain specific duties on the operator of  
any vessel, whether it is numbered or unnumbered, which  
is involved in a collision, accident or any other casualty:

1.  Operator is required to stop and render such assis tance to 
other persons affected by the accident as may be practical 
and necessary in order to save them or minimize any 
danger resulting from the accident.

2.  Operator is required to give their name, address and the 
number of their vessel (if it is numbered), in writing, to any 
person injured and to the owner of any property damaged 
in the collision or accident.

3.  Operator is required to make immediate notification to the 
Wildlife Resources Commission, by the quickest means 
available, when an accident occurs that involves a vessel  
or its equipment resulting in a death or disappearance of  
a person from a vessel. The notification should consist of:
a)  The date, time and exact location of the occurrence;
b)  The name of each person who died or disappeared;
c) The number and name of the vessel; and 
d)     The names and addresses of the owner and operator.
When the operator of a vessel cannot give the notice 
required above, each person on board the vessel shall 
notify the Wildlife Resources Commission or determine 
that the notice has been given. 
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4.  Operator will be required to make a written report of the 
accident on a form provided by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission if the accident results in any one or more  
of the following: 
a) Loss of life; 
b)  A person is injured and requires medical treatment 

beyond first aid;
c)  Actual physical damage to property (including vessels)  

in excess of $2,000.00;
d)  A person disappears from the vessel under circum­

stances that indicate death or injury.

Reports in death, disappearance and injury cases must be 
submitted within 48 hours; reports in other cases are required 
within 10 days. When the operator of a vessel cannot submit 
the accident report, the owner shall submit the report.

The purpose of the accident report is to provide statistical 
information as to the causes, frequency and location of 
serious boating accidents, and in transmittal of infor mation  
as required by GS. 75A­11 of the North Carolina Boating 
Safety Act which further provides that the required accident 
reports “shall not be admissible as evidence.“

LITTERING

It is a misdemeanor to place, throw, deposit or discharge  
into the inland public waters of this State any litter, raw 
sewage, bottles, cans, papers, or other liquid or solid 
materials which render the waters unsightly, noxious,  
or otherwise unwhole some so as to be detrimental to  
the public health or welfare or to the enjoyment and  
safety of the water for recreational purposes.

UNIFORM WATERWAY MARKERS

The Uniform Waterway Marking System (United States Aids 
to Navigation) has been adopted for use on the public waters 
of North Carolina.

The system is designed to facilitate water traffic by the use of 
standardized signs and markers in the same way that motor 
traffic is regulated on the nation’s highways. It is incumbent 
on all boaters to familiarize themselves with the system and 
the meaning of the various signs and markers.
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Navigational Aids

ALL-RED BUOY indicates vessels should 
pass between it and its companion, an all­
green buoy. Keep red buoy on starboard 
(right) side when proceeding up stream  
or when entering a channel from the  
main body of water. Red buoys are used 
opposite, or in plain sight of, an all­green 
buoy to mark the edge of a well­defined 
channel. Numbers, when used, will be 
white and even. May have conical top. 
Also, called a nun buoy.

ALL-GREEN BUOY indicates vessels 
should pass between it and its com panion, 
an all­red buoy. Keep green buoy on port 
(left) side when proceed ing upstream, or 
when entering a channel from the main 
body of water.

Regulatory Markers

DIAMOND SHAPE WITH CROSS means 
Boats Keep Out.

DIAMOND SHAPE warns of  
Danger.  Wording appearing in  
diamond includes ROCK, DAM,  
SNAG, DREDGE, WING­DAM,  
FERRY CABLE, MARINE  
CONSTRUCTION, WRECK, etc.
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CIRCLE means area controlled “as  
indicated“. Wording that may appear  
in circle includes SLOW­NO WAKE,  
NO SKI, NO SWIM, NO SCUBA, NO  
PROP BOATS, SKI ONLY, FISHING  
ONLY, SKIN DIVING ONLY, etc.

RECTANGLE gives names,  
dis tances, arrows indicating  
directions, availability of gas, oil, 
groceries, marine repairs, etc.

MOORING BUOY has no navigational  
or regulatory significance. Blue band is  
half way between top and water line.  
Used as an anchoring aid. May bear  
ownership identification. Lighting is  
normally optional, but lighting may  
be required depending upon location  
in waterway. 

DIVER’S FLAG indicates presence of a 
diver. To be flown from vessel or float. 
Flag has been adopted by Under Water 
Society of America. Boaters are warned 
to keep away from flag area to avoid 
submerged divers. The diver’s flag is 
not a part of the Uniform Waterway 
Marking System (United States Aids  
to Navigation) but should be used by 
divers and recognized by boaters. 
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RULES OF THE ROAD

Safe navigation is very largely a matter of boating courtesy, or 
the observation of the “golden rule“ in marine traffic. Certain 
navigational “rules of the road“ should be understood and 
adhered to by those who share the use of our public waters. 
Observance of the “rules of the road“ is required by North 
Carolina law, and failure to observe them is imprudent and 
could constitute reckless and negligent operation.

Meeting

When two vessels approach each other from opposite direc­
tions “heads on“, each must alter course to the right to avoid 
collision. If the two vessels are far enough to the left of each 
other so that no change in direction is needed for safe passage, 
both will maintain their course and speed to pass clear.

Crossing

When two vessels approach each other at an angle, the one on 
the right has the right­of­way and the other must stay clear.

Restricted Maneuverability

Sailboats not under power and vessels propelled by oars or 
paddles have the right­of­way over motorboats except in an 
overtaking situation where the vessel being overtaken always 
has the right­of­way. Small pleasure craft must yield to large 
commercial vessels in narrow channels.

Passing 

When one vessel overtakes another going in the same direc­
tion, the craft being overtaken must maintain course and 
speed, and the passing vessel must keep a sufficient distance 
to avoid collision or endangering the other craft from its wake.
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Speed and Control

All vessels must be operated at reasonable speeds for given 
situations and must be under the complete control of the 
operator at all times.

Danger Areas

Vessels passing close to swimming areas, moored vessels,  
or vessels engaged in fishing, servicing buoys or markings,  
or similar activities, must reduce their speed so as to prevent 
their wash or wake from causing damage or danger to 
swimmers or other occupants of the area or other vessels.

Aircraft

Vessels must not intentionally obstruct or interfere with the 
take off or landing of aircraft, and must stay clear of taxiing 
aircraft at all times.
 

Lights

Operators of vessels must comply with the require ments  
for the type and use of lights when underway from sunset  
to sunrise.

Access Areas

The Wildlife Resources Commission currently maintains  
over 200 access areas where boaters may launch and retrieve 
their vessels free of charge. For a list of these locations visit 
www.ncwildlife.org.
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CARRYING PASSENGERS FOR HIRE

A captain’s license is required if carrying passengers for hire 
on navigable waters. Before carrying passengers for hire, 
contact the Coast Guard Marine Sector North Carolina at  
Fort Macon, 252­247­4523, for information and regulations.

LOCAL REGULATIONS

Local Restrictions

Some counties have more restrictive local laws or ordinances 
pertaining to vessel operation. Information regarding these 
restrictions may be obtained from local governments, sheriffs 
departments, or marine commissions (Lake Norman, 704­
564­6333. Lake Wylie, 704­688­6507.)

In some cases the Wildlife Resources Commission is author­
ized to make uniform safety rules and reg ulations applicable 
to all public waters of the State. Special regulations may be 
approved for local bodies of water at the request of local 
authorities concerned. Water safety rules may be adopted  
by the Wildlife Resources Commission to mitigate hazards to 
boater and water recreation safety. After giving public notice, 
counties or municipalities with territorial jurisdiction over 
local waters may submit a D­1 application form, along with a 
resolution requesting that the Wildlife Resources Commission 
undertake rulemaking. Once a water safety rule is adopted 
and codified in the North Carolina Administrative Code, the 
rule becomes enforceable after the applicant or persons 
designated by the applicant purchase and place US Aids  
to Navigation (USATONS) no­wake buoys or signs to mark 
the no­wake zone.

Local water safety rules are published in the North Carolina 
Register and in the North Carolina Admin istrative Code. The 
substance of the general statewide regulations is included in 
this Vessel Operator’s Guide.

Official copies of local regulations applying to specific  
waters may be obtained on request from the Wildlife 
Resources Commission.

FOR INFORMATION OR TO REGISTER  
FOR FREE BOATING COURSES,  

VISIT www.ncwildlife.org
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COLONIAL WATERBIRD
NESTING AREA

ENTRY PROHIBITED
APRIL 1 – AUGUST 31

DR. JAMES F. PARNELL
COLONIAL WATERBIRD SANCTUARY SYSTEM

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
Raleigh, NC

Report Violations—Call Toll Free—1-800-662-7137

Colonial Waterbird Nesting Areas

Coastal islands and beach areas posted as Colonial Waterbird 
Nesting Areas are being managed to protect nesting popula­
tions of pelicans, terns, gulls, herons, and egrets. Special 
regulations apply. Access is pro hibited on these areas from 
April 1 to August 31, except by special permit. Dogs may not 
be allowed on these areas during this time period. Access on 
these areas from September 1 to March 30 will be allowed as 
authorized by the landowner.

Report Violations—call toll free 1-800-662-7137

The Wildlife Resources Commission is an Equal Opportunity 
Employer and all wildlife programs are administered for the benefit 
of all North Carolina citizens without prejudice towards age, sex, 
race, religion, or national origin. Violations of this pledge may be 
reported to the, N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, Equal 
Employment Officer, Personnel Office, 1703 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1703. Telephone (919) 707-0101.

40,000 copies of this public document were printed at a cost of
$6,520.20 or $0.163 per copy.
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